Packing & Firemen

packingmessAll I’ve done recently is pack, pack, pack. We’re closing on the house Tuesday at 3pm, and moving that weekend. It’ll be nice to have a few days between the closing and moving to thoroughly clean the house. I want to scrub the walls, clean the carpets, and wash the floors and bathroom.  The house is a clean house overall, but obviously I want to give it a good scrub down before we move in.

Recently the apartment building has been annoying me more and more and I’m counting down the days until we are out of here! Friday I was woken up at 4:45 by a strange beeping, and I wasn’t sure where it was coming from. Come to find out it was the smoke detector on the first floor. They are hardwired and it was the only one going off and google told us it was probably just the battery so I wasn’t to concerned. However, after over an hour of hearing it I couldn’t handle it anymore and called the landlord, after a half hour of not hearing back from him I started to over think it.

The smoke detector is also a carbon monoxide detector, and that light was flashing on it, and I started telling myself if it was just the battery both lights would be flashing. I ended up calling the dispatch non-emergency line, and told them specifically there was no fire but the detector on the first floor wouldn’t turn off. They sent a whole fire truck, and a few firemen in there outfits WITH AN AXE!! And guess what, it was the battery. Yup. Cause that situation wasn’t embarrassing at all….macaroons

Today I made macaroons, I wanted a break from packing, and I had some coconut I wanted to use up before the move. They taste amazing! I’m pretty sure I should have cooked the mixture on the stove for longer because it was a bit to wet, but they still turned out fine. If you would like to make them I used this recipe from skinnytaste.com, she seriously had the best recipes, I make things from her site all the time!

I guess its time I get back to packing and getting rid of things I don’t need, I can’t wait until Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

