Easy DIY “upholstered” corkboard!

Today I thought I’d share a quick little DIY I did for my kitchen the other day! I recently painted the entire kitchen/dining/hallway area and have been attempting to decorate it. I have an obscene amount of wall space in that area and I’m not quite sure what to do with it all! I will show a before and after of the kitchen soon, but first i have some touch ups to do!

mainimage_new

I’ve been wanting a corkboard for the kitchen but I don’t like the looks of corkboards so I wasn’t quite sure what to do. Then one day I realized I could hide the cork with fabric, and use thumb tacks as upholstery tacks! It came out quite good if you ask me, even though they are terrible photos taken with my iphone.


beforekindaafterFirst I painted the frame of the corkboard white, because I thought white would look nice. It took about 3 coats of basic white acrylic craft paint.

corkboard1 corkboard2I then cut a piece of fabric that was larger then the surface of the corkboard and then folded over the raw edges so that it fit the cork area of the board. this also left a nice smooth edge to line up with the frame. I started by tacking down each corner and in the middle of each side.

corkboard3

I then just started pushing in tacks, lining them up as well as I could to the frame of the board. If i was more of a perfectionist this probably would have taken a lot longer and been a lot straighter, but I’m not a perfectionist, so its a bit wobbly.

corkboard4

Finally, I hung the finished project up on my wall! Right next to the ‘dry erase’ calendar I had designed a few weeks prior. However when i stepped back i realized that both items are far to small to be the only things on the wall….

corkboard5

Ooops! I think I’ll end up making another corkboard that is larger at some point, and adding some other things on the wall as well. However, for now its just going to look ridiculous.

Also, the sneak peak of the wall color isn’t completely color accurate, but its close!

One thought on “Easy DIY “upholstered” corkboard!

Leave a Reply

